F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Tire pressure. What do you run it at for daily.

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2007, 08:57 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tire pressure. What do you run it at for daily.

Alright well i'm very new to motorcycle riding but not to tire pressure.

The book says 42psi rear and 36psi front. I do believe mine are off by a good amount. I have Continental Sport Attack and there about a year old (bought the bike used). Just wondering what is optimum tire pressure for these tires or for the bike in general. Should i just follow honda specs?

Old 08-01-2007, 09:49 PM
Default RE: Tire pressure. What do you run it at for daily.

I run 36f/42r, just like what MOM says, and have not had any issues using my bike as a daily commuter. I'm running the stock Dunlop Sportmax's.

Old 08-01-2007, 11:12 PM

I suggest you run whatever it says on the side of the tire. Yes, Michelin pilots state 36F/42R and that's how you should run then. I also suggest you check your pressure when the tires are still cold, And when I say cold, I mean at Air temperature, not after you've done a few laps around your race track.

Old 08-02-2007, 02:25 AM

Running the highest possible according to mom/tire manufacturer will get you the best wear

sometimes people lower psi for trackdays or riding twisties, but you won't get as much life out of them

Old 08-02-2007, 05:53 AM

Well i know all about checking a tire when its cold (full time auto tech haha) I think when i checked my tires they were at 28F and 34R so ill make sure to change that.

Higher PSI will be better for handling too am i correct? I know in a car when i autox i usually have it at like 45ish

Old 08-02-2007, 06:01 AM
Retired Moderator
Received 1 Like on 1 Post