F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Suspension Tune!

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2012, 12:32 PM
Registered Users
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suspension Tune!

Well i've been riding my 02 F4i now for about 6 months with stock setting and i finally decided to mess with the oem settings and adjust them to my weight. Went through tons of youtube vids and threads online and was a little hesistant at first to attempt this cause its really my first time doing something like this. Well boy im i glad i did, with the help of a friend i was able to dial the bike in and now its like riding a whole new bike. First time out after all my adjustments, i was taking it easy but the more i rode the more i got response from the bike and i was able to ride faster and smoother into turns. I didnt realize it till later but i actually was going faster and put some new strips on my tire i never had before. Braking is so much smoother, and no more nose diving. Taking off feels much nicer and responsive. If you havent messed with your suspension i would highly recommend it.

Oem settings
front with no weight was 267mm
front with rider was 223
Difference was 44mm which is to soft
Front after adjustment was 232 and got 35mm which is recommended

Spring set to 5
Rear with no weight was 451mm
Rear with rider on 421mm
Difference was 30mm which is recommended

Here's my measurements just to give you a rough guide

Anyone else tryed this on there own??? curiouse to see there measurements and how they differ from my oem settings.

Old 11-03-2012, 01:23 PM

We had a suspension set up weekend also!! Kind of made it easier with more people around.. I only weigh 145 lbs and was surprised how far out of adjustment my front was.