F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

spitting problem

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2007, 07:10 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default spitting problem

I just recently purchased a 2003 honda cbr f4i. It has a two brothers racing pipe and a bunch of other non-important mods. When i go to take off in 1st quickly the bike acts like it is out of gas or that it doesnt have power anymore. It like spits for a couple seconds then has the power it is suppost to. If i let first gear out and just cruise slowly its fine but then if i throttle it back it takes a second then spits a little then finally gives me the power i want. if i pop the clutch so to speak and then roll the throttle it still spits a little. I am new to bikes and not really that familiar with what this problem could be. I tried adding some dry gas but that didnt fix the problem. If someone could tell me whats wrong or what to do that would be great. I also am in need of purchasing new tires... anyone know any good deals around on them?? Thanks ahead of time!

-Avery

Old 07-26-2007, 09:34 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: spitting problem

it's really hard to diagnose because...
1st gear on bikes...and in particular the f4i is very choppy...is this just the chop you're seeing? i say this because if this was like a gas issue, spark issue, or air issue...then it should affect it in some form at all gears, not just first.

how many miles on the bike? may be time for new plugs.
as for tires...there is no one good place...lots of places around....
i usually just go to www.ronayers.com

Old 07-26-2007, 09:43 AM
Official Welcome Crew Junkie

Sounds like the engine might be running lean due to 2 Bros. pipe.
Power Commander installed?
What otherengine mods are there?

Old 07-26-2007, 09:55 AM

almost sounds like its too rich even....sputtering out....cant handle the gas well until the revs get up higher..... i would try plugs, and also clean/check the air filter.

Old 07-26-2007, 12:24 PM