F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Some feedback needed on braking??

Old 03-15-2008, 04:02 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Some feedback needed on braking??

I graduated into a 2005 CBR F4i after riding for about a year...exactly 4k under my belt. Coming from a Honda Hawk...this is night and day riding experience.
So, I saw an empty parking lot and proceeded to do some slow maneuvers and some braking drills so as to get myself famaliarized with the bike.
The manuevers were fine. However, hitting the brakes front and rear, separately and simultaneously have different affects, as you know.
However, on this bike I ended up doing a couple of endo's never goingpast 22miles per hour...

So, the first question is when i came down, it seemed like the bike came down first then i came down, should this be in sync, because my buttfelt the impact.
Secondly, if this is at 22 miles an hour...what happenswhen some dick cuts you off and is at a higher speed...what do you do then?? After all this was atlower speed and was in a controlled environment.

Some tips and feedback would be appreciated! Snide comments not so much.

Cheers

Old 03-15-2008, 06:59 PM
Default RE: Some feedback needed on braking??

hmmmmm..... i also have an F4i have been cut off and had lights change abruptly, i have yet to have my rear tire come off the ground...... when you emergency brake do you use the rear as well ? i have had the rear lock up and slide around, but never come up.........

---Dave....

Old 03-15-2008, 08:09 PM

I braked doing the front and rear(simultaneously), rear, and front only to see what would happen.Doing the rear alone will cause a slide as well as simultaneously, if going fast. It was just the front the caused the endo. Further, the Hawk, had only a single disc in front and would never endo.

Old 03-15-2008, 10:16 PM

i find the f4i to have lots of bite especially up front... i always use fronts and rearsso perhaps thats why i never have it come up....