F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Quick Easy power upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2008, 04:26 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Quick Easy power upgrades

Hello, I just bought an 02 CBR 600 F4i with 4600 miles for $3300. I found a few things I want to replace (i.e. The clutch cable, cct, tires got replace with dunlop qualifiersl). I'm fairly new to the motorcycle game so I was wondering if there is anything I could do to get quick and easy power gains. The bike came with a D&D headers and exaust system and powercommander (i assume this is something like the VTech controller for bikes?) Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 09-09-2008, 04:40 PM
Default RE: Quick Easy power upgrades

its vtec

and you have the right idea with the power commander = vtec controller (sort of... vtec controllers dont really do s**t, trust me. Im not exactly new to four-wheeled hondas). Really, with an exhaust system and PC, youre pretty much set. Since you say youre new to the motorcycle game, Im assuming your riding experience is minimal, so Id suggest building skills before you worry about power and going faster. Assuming you havent already, go to http://www.msf-usa.org/ and sign up for a class, and remember to gear up when riding

Old 09-09-2008, 04:49 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

if you're new to bikes the biggest power upgrade will be an msf class, a couple months riding experience and a track day! 100bhp is a handful.
after that the biggest feel of a power boost is from a gearing change... you can change the gear ratio of the final drive (drive chain sprockets) easily to make the engine scream quicker = more torque/power at the same speed! (unless you want to keep the 160mph top end). search for '-1' or '-1,+2' or sprocket

Old 09-09-2008, 08:06 PM