F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

problem...help?

  #1  
Old 04-10-2011, 06:01 PM
Sirsabattini's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 67
Default problem...help?

so after my prior problem i started losing hope cause the fi light would only flash on and than right back off, so i couldn't read a code at all. now last night i tore the bike down to the frame and motor, cleaned and greased every connection, and cleaned my throttle bodies. now when i turn the bike on, its rough to start and i have to keep the throttle up myself for about 15 seconds or it'll stall, at which time the fi light comes on, and its fine. now the question at hand. when the kickstand is down and its idling in neutral, the fi light blinks two times every three seconds. but when i pull the stand up, it goes solid until i put the stand back down, and its back to flashing. anyone heard of this before?
 
  #2  
Old 04-10-2011, 07:10 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: oklahomacity
Posts: 218
Default

every thing is plugged in?
 
  #3  
Old 04-10-2011, 07:55 PM
Sirsabattini's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 67
Default

yep. every little thing. triple checked just to make sure
 
  #4  
Old 04-11-2011, 04:49 AM
Slick 6's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Setubal,Portugal
Posts: 207
Default

According to the manual:
"The Malfunction Indicator Lamp (MIL) will start blinking only with the sidestand down and with the engine off (engine stop switch turned to run) or engine revs are below 5000rpm. In any other condition the MIL will illuminate and stay on."

To reset the MIL:
1. Turn ignition off and engine stop switch to run.
2. Short the service connector.
3. Turn ignition on.
4. Remove jumper wire from the service connector.
5. The MIL lights for five seconds. While the light is on short the connector again. If you successfully erase the memory the MIL will turn off and then start blinking.
 
  #5  
Old 04-11-2011, 04:52 AM
Slick 6's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Setubal,Portugal
Posts: 207
Default

Do you have the manual? If not, download it or I can take a srceen of the error code page if needed
 
  #6  
Old 04-11-2011, 05:00 AM
Slick 6's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Setubal,Portugal
Posts: 207
Default

According to the manual it's a faulty map or loose vacuum hose
 
Attached Thumbnails problem...help?-error.jpg  
  #7  
Old 04-11-2011, 09:19 AM
F34Me?'s Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 573
Default

Where did you download the manual from? That sounds like a very useful thing to have! Is there a parts list as well?
 
  #8  
Old 04-11-2011, 09:36 AM
Slick 6's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Setubal,Portugal
Posts: 207
Default

I'll see if I can find the link for the download.
As for the parts fiche, I just go to ronayers.com and whenever I need the part# I just pull the parts fiche from them. It's easy to check, they have an exploded view of everything on the bike.
 
  #9  
Old 04-11-2011, 09:39 AM
Slick 6's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Setubal,Portugal
Posts: 207
  #10  
Old 04-11-2011, 10:25 AM
Sirsabattini's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 67
Default

so it could be my map sensor? cause all of my hoses are on there very very tight lol. but that map sensor is on the left underside of the airbox correct?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: problem...help?


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.