F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

O2 Sensor Delete - NOT the best idea!

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2013, 09:32 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default O2 Sensor Delete - NOT the best idea!

I'm planning on getting a DanMoto exhaust for my California f4i. As such, I've been doing a bit of research regarding the O2 sensor. I'm an SAE master technician and I've been working on cars and bikes since I was 14.

Now, many people on this forum seem to believe that replacing the O2 sensor with a 330 ohm resistor or a "specially designed module" is a simple and harmless modification. After all, the O2 sensor is just there to make the bike look "green" for all the tree-huggers in the California Air Resources Board, right? Or, maybe it only operates in a VERY narrow window of infrequent riding scenarios, as suggested on the DanMoto website. Well if you believe that, you should read this; it comes straight from wikipedia: