F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

now what is it?!

  #1  
Old 11-11-2010, 07:50 PM
pocfoo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Beaumont, Tx
Posts: 200
Default now what is it?!

ok, so i laid my bike down a couple weeks ago and been tryin to get it back together. i cracked my stator and oil was everywhere. so, i ordered my new stator, gasket, and all that bs and switch it out. i put about 3.5 things of oil in it, and let it run for bout 3 - 5 min, but for some reason, the little clear window on the side doesnt show any oil... is somethin else seriously wrong? or would i just need more oil since all of mine was in the street? ahh i was so excited! but the new stator looks good
 
  #2  
Old 11-11-2010, 08:01 PM
Aken's Avatar
July 2008 ROTM
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 3,002
Default

More oil.
 
  #3  
Old 11-11-2010, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 132
Default

+1...more oil. Make sure the bike is straight up to let the oil level out in the window
 
  #4  
Old 11-11-2010, 08:20 PM
pocfoo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Beaumont, Tx
Posts: 200
Default

i feel so dumb, yea the bike sure was on its kickstand. as soon as i sat it straight up, the oil showed up in the window. thanks alot tho, now i jus need new plastics and im back in business
 
  #5  
Old 11-11-2010, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 132
Default

Good deal man, Glad to here your gettin her back together
 
  #6  
Old 11-11-2010, 09:22 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 861
Default

If its sittin on the kick stand it wont show up in the window. gotta hold it upright and then check it.
 
  #7  
Old 11-11-2010, 09:39 PM
pocfoo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Beaumont, Tx
Posts: 200
Default

yea i stood it up straight and the entire window was full of oil so apparantley i have to drain some out, right? and its late so i hope it wont hurt anything sitting with all that oil overnight... or should i do a late night job?
 
  #8  
Old 11-11-2010, 10:29 PM
ID_CBRRider's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 204
Default

Yeah I probably should have told you that when you take the stator cover off you end up getting ALL of the oil out of the motor...my bad!! There seems to be just a little that gets trapped up in that cover.

Mine usually takes just a touch over three quarts for just an oil change but when I did my stator I got that extra 1/2 quart out also and it took about that to fill it back up.

And oh yeah it won't hurt to leave it overnight and dump a little out in the morning if you did over fill it.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.