F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

New CBRF4i Owner

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2011 | 11:19 AM
|
Default New CBRF4i Owner

Hey guys a few things, Im new to the scene and just purchased my first bike.

1. The bike does not show any kind of fuel gauge. You can see that there is a spot on the screen but digitally i dont see anything.

2. Is there a aftermarket cowl or simple conversion to eleminate the back seat part of the bike? (i saw the conversion that someone has posted but i do not feel comfortable doing this myself considering i am new to the scene.

3. I am having problems trying to unlock the compartment part of the bike and needed some help on how to release the latch because i have a feeling something is getting caught on it to prevent it from opening.

Any tips and advise would be greatly appreciated.. thank you in advance

Old 05-05-2011 | 11:46 AM

Hey Dweebster, welcome to the forums! and congrats on getting a F4i.

The digital mark you see on your gauge is the RES (reserve), it turns on when you're running on reserve fuel. Typically it's about 30 miles to get to a gas station.

Are you trying to exchange the passenger seat for a plastic? They have cowls, you'll just have to search around for 1.
Something like this can be found:Honda Parts, Honda Sportbike Parts, Honda Fender | NiceCycle.com

For the lock mechanism, i had a similar problem. I took the passenger seat off, and you can directly see the lock mechanism, and i saw there was a lot of slack on the pulley that lifted the lock, so i tightened it and done.

Good luck!

Old 05-05-2011 | 11:47 AM

Congrats on the new bike.

- The fuel gauge only appears when the tank is low.
- I've seen some cowls that cover the tail section of the banana seat but I don't know where to find it.
- If you can get the compartment open then check the latch and locking mechanism for any issues that may be causing it to jam up.

Old 05-05-2011 | 12:11 PM
June 2012 Ride of the Month