F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Need advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2010, 11:42 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice

Hi my name is Curtis I'm 23, live in TX, and a noob. I am looking at getting a 2002 f4i with 3k on it, that cost $4,250.00. My question is, is this a good first bike? I have grown up riding ATV's (I know it's not the same). So, pretty much I have no experience on a bike, like to get some advice. I am planning on taking the safety course before I get my license. by the way I'm 6ft 180lb.

Last edited by 99miata61; 03-07-2010 at 11:53 AM.
Old 03-07-2010, 11:50 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

yea...def take the safety course... i know a bunch of guys on here would say that no one should start out on a 600. not as forgiving as opposed to a 250 or 650 vtwin like the Sv's. But for me...I started out on a 600...prob would of been better off on something smaller. I just took it slow, got familiar with the power...and all is well.
If I had to go back and do it over again..I wouldn't of changed a thing

Old 03-07-2010, 12:21 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

First off, welcome aboard.

You say you have "pretty much no experience" & ask "is this a good first bike?" The simple answer is NO, this is not a good first bike for someone w/ no experience. That being said, it doensn't mean that it can't be done but the learning curve is extreme compared to a lower cc machine.

I commend you on wanting to take the MSF course. I recommend this to all riders. That being said, I think any MSF instructor is going to recommend that you start on a lower cc bike to work on your skills & technique. Once you've got a handle on the fundamentals w/a lower cc bike, then you can move up to a more powerful bike. This could be a relatively short period of time or longer, depending on your ability.

Whatever your decision, good luck.

Last edited by gotcbr; 03-07-2010 at 12:55 PM. Reason: emphasizing "no" experience
Old 03-07-2010, 12:49 PM