F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

my 03 F4I

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2007, 10:09 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default my 03 F4I

well, took a couple weeks but i got it done. i'm sure you guys have seen hundreds of pics of an '03 F4I but i wanted to share my experiences with rebuilding this bike so that maybe somebody else can benefit from my experience.

i bought the bike a few weeks ago, it has 14000 miles on it. its in great running condition but the body looked like crap. it had a Cheetah fiberglass body kit on it, and to me it seemed "loose". after i took the body parts off i realized why it seemed that way. i'm not knocking cheetah, hey i'm a noob, but i've been around the block as far as working on cars, and completely restored a '99 F4 which was in way worse condition.

i paid 3500.00 for the bike and spend about 1500.00 in parts fixing this bike up. new plugs, front tire, grips, bar ends, lots of bolts/hardware that were missing, stator cover, mirrors, turn signals, undertail, oil, filter, painted the gas tank with spray cans, skateboard grip tape,other misc stuff i can't remember, and lastly and mainly why i'm posting this...... THE FAIRING KIT.

i bought everything off ebay. the body kit was 6 pieces from a seller in hong kong. i must admit the shipping was faster than i could have possibly imagined, about 4 days. first major problem: 4 out of 6 body pieces had damage. actually 5 out of 6 but i was willing to accept part 5's damage. tabs were broken and cracked on the side fairings. the front fairing had a piece completely broken off of it between the headlight and ram air opening. the front fender had a 6 inch crack in the paint down the right side. the tail cowl was scuffed in a few spots. i waited to see how the seller wanted to handle the situation and when i realized he was gonna cheese out on replacing everything, i went to work.