F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

lighter and lower bike!

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2005, 04:22 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default lighter and lower bike!

Hi everybody, I'm a newbie with alot of good questions. I came here to get some insight from the knowledgeable people here.

I'm looking into building a nice bike for my sister (most likely a f4, f4i, or 600rr). I need to make it as light and as low as I can get it. So come at me with all of your lowering tips and lightening tips. As far as lowering goes I know I can shave the foam in the seat, get the dog bones lowering kit for the rear, but am not quite sure what to do to the front suspension. Are low profile tires an option.

As for lightening the bike. I'm going to make a list of the things that first come to mind and if people could please tell me the lightest option to purchase (like brands or specific models), feel free to add to the list also.

Lightest street full Body kit-
Lightest rims (reasonably priced)-
lightest tires-
lightest exhaust-
lightweight swingarm (possibly aftermarket, or maybe swapable like an rr onto an f4)-
chain and sprockets

Please don't think I'm crazy for wanting to do all of this work. But smaller girls need this stuff done in order to handle them better. It will be one bad *** bike when I'm done with it. Hopefully she will sell it to me when she is done with it.

As you know I need lots of help choosing parts and I appreciate every bit of help I get.

Old 05-19-2005, 11:17 AM
Default RE: lighter and lower bike!

i wouldn't worry about the rims, that weight is at the bottom of the bike.....the best thing for her is to lighten all the stuff up top that you can. carbon fiber parts would be your best bet....

Old 05-19-2005, 04:58 PM