F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

how to tell?

  #1  
Old 04-30-2012, 08:44 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Port Richey Florida
Posts: 116
Default how to tell?

How do i tell if my fuel pressure regulator is going?
Is it a part that will slowly go bad, or eather it works or it doesn't?

On a full tank, 6th gear about 6k rpm (i ride like i own the roads) im getting about 120 miles before my reserve light comes on. I have 38k original miles on the throttle bodies. Time to replace that part, or is that just average mpg for my rpm?

It starts and revs no problem, if i hold it at one rpm it seems a little lumpy where rpms don't hold at a exact and steady number.
 
  #2  
Old 04-30-2012, 08:52 PM
74demon's Avatar
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: socal 949/951
Posts: 7,969
Default

Is there a reduction in mileage? 120 seems ok. When the fpr goes, it will be more like 70 and be running super rich, black smoke, fouling plugs, and be barely running.

Pull the vacuum line and look for fuel. give the fpr a little vacuum, see if it holds or if it leaks fuel.
 
  #3  
Old 04-30-2012, 08:54 PM
mnguyen84's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 421
Default

sounds about right.
 
  #4  
Old 04-30-2012, 09:07 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Port Richey Florida
Posts: 116
Default

The only reason i ask is because i had a stunt tank on it befor (this test was done same day same gas station, same price)

stunt tank, from top of the reserve to the lid took $8 to fill. got me 60 mile average.
stock tank, from top of the reserve to the lid took $12 to fill. Got me 125 miles.


Can someone please explain why for just $4 more, i got over dubble the mileage for riding the same route twice. Thats why i ask if my FPR is going bad or not.
ONLY veriable to change was the tank its self. I used same fuel pump in both tanks, and Same gas lid.
 
  #5  
Old 05-01-2012, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 258
Default

maybe the reserve sensor in the stunt tank was off?
 
  #6  
Old 05-01-2012, 10:46 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Port Richey Florida
Posts: 116
Default

Originally Posted by omg209 View Post
maybe the reserve sensor in the stunt tank was off?
Reserve sensor is on the fuelpump. which stayed the same in BOTH tanks... i used the same fuel pump in both. ONLY difference is the metal tank its self.
 
  #7  
Old 05-01-2012, 11:21 PM
wagzhp's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 167
Default

What was the price per gallon on each day?
 
  #8  
Old 05-01-2012, 11:57 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Port Richey Florida
Posts: 116
Default

Like i said, SAME DAY i did this with BOTH tanks. Price was like $3.52 i think. But i did this test, SAME DAY, SAME GAS STATION, with SAME PRICE
 
  #9  
Old 05-02-2012, 12:53 AM
wagzhp's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 167
Default

Whoops, Sorry, I missed those details. That is a pretty drastic mpg change. I'm as puzzled as you.
 
  #10  
Old 05-02-2012, 01:20 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Port Richey Florida
Posts: 116
Default

LoL, i let me friend do the same test, he got slightly better mpg, he got like 70 on stunt and like 145 on regular, but he rides more calmly than i do. but hes and i are as confused..
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.