F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

hid question

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2008, 05:39 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hid question

i just installed a star-rotors (xentec) slim ballast hid kit in my high and low beam(heard great reviews)

i got both hooked up correctly but when i turn the key before starting the engine(switch on low beam), sometimes the low beam will flicker and shut down. as soon as i start the bike it will turn right on and both lows/highs work perfect. i also noticed that after running the engine and using the kill switch w/ the key on, the lights WILL stay on....this only happens on the first turn of the key.

i personally have no problems with this as i never sit with the key on before starting the bike BUT i just felt that i should check to see if this could be bad for the lights or cause future problems. like i said, as soon as the bike starts everything works perfect.

this is my first time doing hid's but its pretty much idiot-proof so i dont think i did anything wrong connection wise..

let me know what you think
thanks!

Old 05-01-2008, 12:37 AM
Default RE: hid question

HIDs are particular some times, i say if they work when your riding then live with it, or you can call the company and ask them to send a replacement and see if they do the same thing

Old 05-01-2008, 12:46 AM

Isn't that normal after using the kill switch with the key on? Thought in general, the lights just stayed on until you turned the key off.

My HID's are a bit more wierd, sometimes after they're fully warmed up, and I turn it off and turn it right back on again, it wont come on right away, and I gotta like turn the key off, turn it back on to get it to come back on. Not sure if I need a bigger fuse, I don't know what I got in there, but I'm pretty sure I already upped it lol.

Old 05-01-2008, 01:58 AM