F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

HELP!!!!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2008, 03:52 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP!!!!!!!!

whatsup? im new to this forum and i need some help. ive been riding for 3 years now and i got a 2001 cbr600 f4i. its been sitting for a while now and the previous owner didnt drain the gasoline. so i go to start it and its fine. it idles and everything but when you rev it, it just makes this glug..glug noise and dies. whats going on? do i need to replace the spark plugs or clean the fuel injectors? if this is something easily fixed id rather try that than go to a shop and spend a ridiculous amount of money. please offer your expertise..

Old 03-11-2008, 08:49 AM
Default RE: HELP!!!!!!!!

I'm pretty new to motorcycles, but I've worked with cars for a while. I would check your air filter. If you're dying at the top end, it might not be sucking enough air to survive at that high of an RPM. If it is old gas you might try puting some additive in it. I don't know if it will help or not, but it's a thought that's popping into my head.

Old 03-11-2008, 09:13 AM

How's the battery? First i'd check the plugs make sure they are fine. If all else fails buy some SeaFoam for 6 bucks add about 1/4 to 1/2 to a full tank and start it up and let her idle for awhile. Also is it cold out when it idles, because they don't like to rev high and fast when you just start them up.

Old 03-11-2008, 11:06 AM

+1 on sea foam. Thats some great stuff. Helps clean up the gunk.

Old 03-11-2008, 06:08 PM

Get fresh gas in there....remove as much as the old stuff you can and put new stuff in there. 87 pump octain and just let it clear out the old gas....it makes a huge difference....and a good place to start.

Old 03-11-2008, 07:31 PM