F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Good first bike?

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2006, 02:10 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Good first bike?

I'm going to be getting my first bike, and I was wondering if the CBR600F4i was a good starter bike. I only have very little dirt bike riding experience and I'm wanting to start street riding. Mainly side roads but I'll be doing some highway riding as well. Not looking for a bike with the most power, just something that I can handle since it's my first time riding. What do you all think? Reasons for your answers would be helpful as well. Thanks guys.

Old 06-14-2006, 02:10 AM
Default RE: Good first bike?

I'll also add that I'm 6' tall and weigh about 155 lbs.

Old 06-14-2006, 02:21 AM

yes, the f4i is a great starting bike, it was my first also...i have had it for 2 weeks now and couldnt be happier. just be careful cause after 9,000 rpms, it gets fast

Old 06-14-2006, 02:25 AM

oh yea, it was my first sport bike as well and ive enjoyed every second on it. By the way im 6'3 and 190 pounds, yea im too big for the bike but still was very forgiving on letting me learn on it.

Old 06-14-2006, 02:31 AM

I've heard the term "forgiving" many times, what exactly does it mean in reguards to riding?

Old 06-14-2006, 09:06 AM
Banned

My F4i was my very first bike, no prior experience ever, and it has been awesome. If you show some restraint, you'll be fine. But make no mistake, a 600cc bike can be way too much (90 HP) for the wrong person/personality. Forgiving to me is that the bike has capabilities that are available to the rider to allow him to make some mistakes without crashing. Maybe ease of trail braking or how it hooks up accelerating out of a turn could be two examples.