F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Fuel Reserve Bars do not work properly

  #1  
Old 10-06-2010, 05:57 PM
JWoods_F4i's Avatar
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 17
Default Fuel Reserve Bars do not work properly

I was wondering if anybody else has had a problem with the fuel reserve bars not working right. On my 02 f4i they will come on randomly even if I have just refueled or have came to a stop. And they never start to flash indicating that Im using my reserve fuel so I was wondering what could be cause this. I figure it is a sensor within the fuel tank that is bad or maybe a wire that is lose and causing this. Any other ideas??
 
  #2  
Old 10-06-2010, 06:18 PM
nickp123's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 806
Default

faulty sensor or wire/connection sounds right. The sensor is part of the fuel pump assembly though i do believe
 
  #3  
Old 10-07-2010, 01:23 AM
Zero1080's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,185
Default

^However, there is a floater arm. So I'd just take the assembly out, and have a dealer check it out. If you can just replace the arm/sensor, that'd be great.

If not, prepare to sell your soul for a new pump.
 
  #4  
Old 10-07-2010, 01:40 AM
redzintimidator's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Greene, NY
Posts: 2,950
Default

Originally Posted by nickp123 View Post
The sensor is part of the fuel pump assembly though i do believe
but that doesnt mean you cant tear it apart to see how it works, heh it could be a simple fix like gluing a new floaty onto the arm again. saves you a few hundred for a new pump assembly
 
  #5  
Old 10-07-2010, 04:30 AM
nickp123's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 806
Default

Originally Posted by redzintimidator View Post
but that doesnt mean you cant tear it apart to see how it works, heh it could be a simple fix like gluing a new floaty onto the arm again. saves you a few hundred for a new pump assembly
well of course...isnt step one for any f4i owner trying to tear whatever apart and fixing it as cheaply and easily as bpossible? ...i was merely pointing him to a possible appropriate starting point
 
  #6  
Old 10-07-2010, 06:59 AM
regener8ed's Avatar
Super Moderator and Official Welcome Crew Yeti
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Souf Cackilack
Posts: 2,066
Default

cheapest fix: put tape over the reserve display and use the trip odometer as your tank gauge.
 
  #7  
Old 10-07-2010, 08:45 AM
redzintimidator's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Greene, NY
Posts: 2,950
Default

eh not necessarily. a lot of guys just say oops its brokedz! Time to make an appt at the stealership to fix it. But yes, probably most of our cunning first ideas are to tear shiat up to fix it..lol
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
lewisF4i
F4i - Main Forum
15
10-23-2012 08:50 AM
johnnyboyocl
F4i - Main Forum
9
10-17-2009 04:49 PM
FLYOU
F4i - Main Forum
24
10-15-2008 12:26 PM
CBR 1000F "Hurricane"
35
07-25-2008 02:39 PM
modifiedgsr
CBR 600F
1
03-28-2006 12:22 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Fuel Reserve Bars do not work properly


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.