F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Fork seal question

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2009, 11:40 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fork seal question

alright so i might have been rough-housing with my bike last year right before i put it to bed for the winter and i broke one of the fork seals. The plan is to remove the forks from my bike and take them to the shop to have the seals redone and fork oil changed. Would it be worth shelling out the extra beans at this time for the valve upgrades or is the difference too unnoticeable to justify the expense. i have no experience with suspension upgrades on bikes other than steering dampers.

Old 03-16-2009, 05:35 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Depends. You'd want springs too. A shock wouldn't hurt either.

Some shops are competent enough at modifying the stock valves. Here's my experience with suspension upgrades:
https://cbrforum.com/forum/product-reviews-29/results-new-suspension-41985/

Old 03-16-2009, 05:36 PM

Depends. You'd want springs too. A shock wouldn't hurt either.

Some shops are competent enough at modifying the stock valves. Here's my experience with suspension upgrades:
https://cbrforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=41985

When did they enable a 30 second wait between posts???? What kinda crap is that??? (okay, rant over)

Old 03-16-2009, 10:23 PM

could you give me a source on suspension parts?

Old 03-16-2009, 10:29 PM

Racetech, GP Suspensions, Traxxion Dynamics, Ohlins and there's also a place that I talked to that I think could do well modifying the stock valves (phil@aftershocks-suspension.com)

Old 03-16-2009, 11:05 PM

man.. forks are EXPENSIVE. all i can afford are stiffer springs and the racetech valve kit. would that even be worth it though?

Old 03-16-2009, 11:22 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post