F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

f4i spark plug blow out

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2009, 06:53 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default f4i spark plug blow out

Hey, this is my first time to this site. I just bought an 01 f4i and absolutely love it. Unfortunately, I want to say the previous owner may have cross threaded the plug or was not tight enough causing it to strip out. It is the #1 firing plug and its kind of in a difficult position but Im assuming I can fix it by retapping with a heli coil kit. Does anybody have any useful info for me? I appreciate it..

Old 03-13-2009, 07:53 PM

Oh man....I am sorry to hear that. This happened to my F3 and it really sucked to repair. I myself wouldnt do it again. I am not trying to discourage you but this was really difficult for me on that bike. My personal suggestion would be to have a pro work on it, but if you decide to tackle it good luck and I hope you get back out on the road quickly.

Old 03-13-2009, 08:08 PM
Official CBRF Welcome Crew Undercover Agent
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hey iRIDE, did you cross-thread, overtorque it, or not tight enough? I'm just curious. Don't mean to jack the thead

Sorry to hear about your plug graf4 ~ how did you discover it was striped?

Old 03-13-2009, 08:29 PM

Mine was actually not tight enough as I didnt have a torque-wrench. I didnt know what to do when it popped out my bike started to sound like a freakin Harley.

The job was such a pain because you dont want to put the coil in and have shavings in the engine. I read of people that put objects in there that would be covered in tape to get the shavings out, but I didnt think that really the correct way to do it. On top of that the plug really didnt thread all that well with the heli-coil kit installed. Then you have to put it all back together and dealing with the timing was a whole other pain in the a$$. Its easily my least favorite jobs.

Old 03-13-2009, 10:02 PM