F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

F4I Gauge Cluster LED Change.. Help needed

  #1  
Old 03-12-2012, 08:07 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Default F4I Gauge Cluster LED Change.. Help needed

Hello CBRForum,

I am currently in the process of replacing the stock LED with different color LEDs. This is my first time doing this and i ran into a bit of a problem. I already soldered the new LEDs into place but however i have four that are not turning on. I tested the LEDs to see if they all light up before resoldering the LCD panel and tach. However, four are not lighting up but i wonder if it's because i didn't solder it well, or if its a bad LED? and if only one isn't working is it gona make the rest of them not work. I was hoping if somebody could give me some feedback or suggestions on whether to either replace all four of those LEDs or what to do or how to test if it's a single one?
My cluster diagram looks like this. "X" marks the non-operational LEDs and "0" marks working ones.



X X 0 0
0 0 0 0
X X 0 0

Any help would be appreciated thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 03-12-2012, 08:54 PM
jeffjones's Avatar
Welcome Crew and May 2012 Ride of the Month
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 1,564
Default

My guess is they are in backwards?

Here is my tutorial I did for doing it: https://cbrforum.com/forum/how-mecha...luster-119967/
 
  #3  
Old 03-12-2012, 09:18 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks for replying,

Thats the thing they're not.. the negative is facing the right way. Those six on the LCD panel all go the same way and they are. Should i replace them with new LEDs and resolder?
 
  #4  
Old 03-13-2012, 12:03 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Default

So i made sure they are the right way, the six on the side of the LCD screen go all the same way. These are pictures of my LEDs and the ones that don't work. Should i just replace them with new LEDs and resolder?

Name:  IMAG0956.jpg
Views: 402
Size:  81.1 KB

Name:  IMAG0962.jpg
Views: 320
Size:  40.0 KB

Name:  IMAG0960.jpg
Views: 248
Size:  28.9 KB
 
  #5  
Old 03-13-2012, 06:41 AM
jeffjones's Avatar
Welcome Crew and May 2012 Ride of the Month
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 1,564
Default

I would just replace them one at a time and re-test.
Make sure you give a good clean/de-solder to the connection point to ensure a good connection.
It could be lots of different things, bad LED, bad solder, melting...

Just remember to put the least amount of heat needed as you don't want to melt stuff.

When its done you will love the look though.
 
  #6  
Old 03-13-2012, 10:08 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Thank you Jeffjones,
I placed an order on some replacement LEDs and as soon as i get them i will resolder and repost with the end result. Thanks alot once again!
 
  #7  
Old 04-01-2012, 01:09 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Default

So it's been a while.. barely doing it now but this was the problem i was running into ..

Name:  IMAG0971.jpg
Views: 331
Size:  70.2 KB

but then i fixed it, turns out some LEDs were bad or didn't solder good.. cleaned it out and replaced them with new ones and this is the finished product.. first time doing it.



Thanks again for the help.
 
  #8  
Old 04-01-2012, 09:16 AM
jeffjones's Avatar
Welcome Crew and May 2012 Ride of the Month
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 1,564
Default

Looks good, I hated the stock yellow/orange colour.
Glad you got it up and running.
 
  #9  
Old 04-04-2012, 10:09 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks Jeff,

It isn't that bad for my first time doing this. I had a question do you know by any chance how to reset the speedometer, the needle sits at 1k rpm instead of 0.
 
  #10  
Old 04-04-2012, 11:52 AM
jeffjones's Avatar
Welcome Crew and May 2012 Ride of the Month
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 1,564
Default

Originally Posted by HowlPendragon View Post
Thanks Jeff,

It isn't that bad for my first time doing this. I had a question do you know by any chance how to reset the speedometer, the needle sits at 1k rpm instead of 0.
Mine did that to but before I put it back together I tested it and then just pulled the needle off again and moved it down abit.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
stewyF4i
F4i - Main Forum
4
04-27-2015 12:39 PM
jeffjones
How-To: Mechanical
8
09-12-2014 02:31 PM
throttle out
F2 For Sale / Trade / Wanted
6
02-15-2011 01:19 PM
tdgroup
900 & + Modifications
11
09-14-2006 01:42 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: F4I Gauge Cluster LED Change.. Help needed


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.