F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

F4i 636 Cluster Project Is A Go

  #1  
Old 05-19-2010, 09:57 PM
April 2011 Ride of the Month
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,692
Default F4i 636 Cluster Project Is A Go

Got it today and wasted no time figuring out mounting so as soon as my 636 harness comes in i can begin wiring... here are some prelim pics using apiece of cardboard... ill be replacing that with sheet aluminum... and be adding a toggle switch on both sides of the cluster...



ill be updating this as i go along.... if anyone has any suggestions post em up for sure, as well as opinions...

thx guys
 
  #2  
Old 05-19-2010, 10:22 PM
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 34
Default

awsome
 
  #3  
Old 05-20-2010, 02:19 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Why would you bother switching to a 636 cluster, and not just stick with the F4i Cluster?

Seems like alot of work for aesthetics.
 
  #4  
Old 05-20-2010, 07:52 AM
April 2011 Ride of the Month
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,692
Default

Originally Posted by Optima View Post
Why would you bother switching to a 636 cluster, and not just stick with the F4i Cluster?

Seems like alot of work for aesthetics.
1) You must not have seen my bike build because most things I have done are asethetics.

https://cbrforum.com/forum/showthrea...errari+project

there is the link

2) Motorcycles like the F4I are about 100% aesthetics, there isnt really anyway to make them "faster" other than exhaust, filter, PCIII and tune. All of which I already have.

3)Ill take this
Name:  DSC_0051.jpg
Views: 50
Size:  66.7 KB
Over this

any day of the week

sorry red i used ur cluster bc its the nicest one i could find for the f4i... no disrespect meant

4) Because i love the digital cluster and actually made 60 bucks selling my f4i cluster and getting a 636
 
  #5  
Old 05-20-2010, 07:58 AM
bubba_finch07's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 880
Default

I think most aftermarket things you get for your bike are asthetic, just saying. I think It would be a kool addition. a way to make your bike different.
 
  #6  
Old 05-20-2010, 08:12 AM
April 2011 Ride of the Month
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,692
Default

ru talking about me personally? Alot of things i get are just for asthetics yes but i beleive motorcycles are pretty much all asthetics, messing with power factors is pretty pointless, hence why everyone just upgrades to bigger bikes....

But as far as performance mods...

Bigger Calipers (Stopping Power)
600rr SA Swap With 1kRR Shock (Improved Handling)
Exhaust (Power Adder)
PCIII (Power Adder)
K&N Intake (Power Adder)
Clean Air Box Mod (Power Adder)
Race Fairings (Weight Reduction)
Pass Seat Removal (Weight Reduction)
Pass Peg Removal (Weight Reduction)


*Radial Master Clinder Soon To Come* (Stopping Power/Feel)
 
  #7  
Old 05-20-2010, 08:19 AM
April 2011 Ride of the Month
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,692
Default

as for alot of work... its not bad... cut a aluminum sheet and bolt up

some simple wiring with some help from the guys on the forum here and its a done deal
 
  #8  
Old 05-20-2010, 11:48 AM
Indiana's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 146
Default

Hey I have the same carpet in my house lol......good luck with the swap ! Take notes, and pictures !!!
 
  #9  
Old 05-20-2010, 02:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 32
Default

I agree with the other dude as far as not seeing the point....but to each his own. Everything anyone does to their bike is a result of their personal taste and I'm noone to tell anyone what to do to their bike.

Did you look into just wiring your own custom LED's into the F4i's cluster? There's tons of stuff you can do and the white-to-red gradient that you showed on the 636 has nothing to do with the digital gauge...I'm fairly certain with the time you'd spend doing the gauge swap you could figure out a way to mod the F4i gauge to make it look sick.



If you contact bluegauges they can make custom back-plates to have the colors look like whatever you want...or you could probably just mod your own.

Anyway, to each his own....good luck on the 636 gauge swap...I'll look at the wiring diagram tomorrow and try and give you some pointers on the wiring if you still need help.

-Duo
 
  #10  
Old 05-20-2010, 02:30 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Hey I am very interested to see how this turns out. But I have one question. Would your odometer reading change do to the new cluster? My bike has about 6100 miles and I wouldnt want a 11000 mile cluster to read that on my bike would it change?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: F4i 636 Cluster Project Is A Go


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.