F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

F4i and 600rr

  #1  
Old 01-13-2016, 09:47 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Default F4i and 600rr

Can you put a rr motor on a f4i frame
 
  #2  
Old 01-13-2016, 10:41 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: north/central WV
Posts: 1,136
Default

Anything is possible with the right tools, the skill to use them, time, and money. Probably not worth the trouble though. You'd have to swap the wire harness, guages etc. All that stuff and hope you dont miss nothing when you start plugging stuff back in. If it even fits with the air box etc.
 
  #3  
Old 01-14-2016, 07:01 AM
74demon's Avatar
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: socal 949/951
Posts: 8,018
Default

They are not interchangable. Same displacement, totally different design.
 
  #4  
Old 01-14-2016, 11:38 AM
Conrice's Avatar
Retired Super Moderator and Fighterer
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6,148
Default

You're looking at frame modification just for the actual engine to fit. Then exhaust routing, air box fittment, and other issues will mess with your tank, swing arm, and subframe.
 
  #5  
Old 01-14-2016, 01:07 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Default Motor parts

Originally Posted by Conrice View Post
You're looking at frame modification just for the actual engine to fit. Then exhaust routing, air box fittment, and other issues will mess with your tank, swing arm, and subframe.
Can I interchange any of the part's like head, carbs, starter....
 
  #6  
Old 01-14-2016, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 2,023
Default

There are no carbs. Stop trying to make the F4i an RR and enjoy it as an F4i. The most you can do is suspension.
 
  #7  
Old 01-14-2016, 07:46 PM
Conrice's Avatar
Retired Super Moderator and Fighterer
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6,148
Default

Originally Posted by Ray Cuz View Post
Can I interchange any of the part's like head, carbs, starter....
Perhaps.


But its not as simple as it seems. The TB benefits come from the TB, the airbox, and the dual injection.

So then you'd need the ECU. Which means you'll need the wiring harness.

So then what do you do about the 600rr gauge?

And an F4i gas tank won't fit over that airbox with the extra fuel rail, and ECU, on tip of it?


See how something as simple as throttle bodies compound into everything else. The starter probably would work, but, why? The head won't work, as that's where half of the bolts that mount the engine are, and you'll have to worry about the water jacket, oil galleys, and combustion chambers all working together....

You might be able to use the cams (some 954 guys have put 1000rr cams in their bikes), but its not a guarantee. And at that point, just get a different bike if you don't like the way the F4i is....

By all means, play around and make your bike YOUR bike. But its not simple and easy, you have to love wrenching, explaining to your friends why your bike is in pieces on the garage floor, and doing a full day's work only to find out what you thought might work doesn't...
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
PrOReDRiDeR81
Sights 'N Sounds
15
02-06-2007 09:10 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: F4i and 600rr


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.