F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Correct way of braking...?

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2006, 08:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Correct way of braking...?

What's the correct way for braking at a slow/regular speed? Do you use just the rear, front/rear, just front or mainly rear and just ease a bit of front disc? I know to some of you it might sound like a pretty stupid question...but to someone like me with very little experience, I'd rather make a fool of myself in here then on the road. When I get my bike I wont be going on any advanced course because I read the road much better than most "normal" people (I've been a professional driver in one of the biggest cities in the world for over 10 years now)...so what matters to me more is correct procedures for riding a big bike like a CBR.

Anyone?

Old 09-07-2006, 08:31 PM
Default RE: Correct way of braking...?

#1...MSF Course. Take it as soon as possible.

#2 as soon as you get a sportbike forget what they taught you about braking.

FRONT BRAKE ONLY. Say this over and over. FRONT BRAKE ONLY.

Once you MASTER the front brake and start to worry about cornering fast you can play with using the rear brake to set the chassis and trail brake.

Any modern sportsbike has front brakes that are good enough to lift the rear off the ground. This means that even if you have a TINY bit of pressure on the rear brake, the tire will lock. Your brain will not have the capacity as a new rider to brake at maximum force on the front and monitor the rear for lock AND modulate the pressure on the rear brake pedal.

What will happen if you get used to using the rear with the front for regular day-to-day braking is when you panic you will stomp the rear brake and lock it up.

FRONT BRAKE ONLY!

Old 09-07-2006, 08:48 PM