F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Converting fairings and body panels

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2009, 09:18 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Converting fairings and body panels

Hi there, I guess this is my 1st post, so excuse my ignorance if some of what I ask seems mildly retarded =) I've been big into cars and mustangs and am a BMW service tech, but i'm new to bikes.
Just got my motorcycle license a month ago but don't have a bike yet.

I'm looking to buy a 2001+ Honda CBR F4i. However I'm very picky. I like the split seat design and I really ONLY want the black/red bikes. Red top, black bottom design.

Anyway, as you can imagine with my picky-ness that an unabused black/red F4i with low mileage is hard to come by. BUT i've seen a few other colored bikes that are in great condition and price,
just different colors.

MY QUESTION:
How expensive/pain in the butt is it to buy say a gray or yellow bike and BUY and INSTALL all the black/red factory panels and body pieces that I want.

I see kits online and on e-bay like this:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/HONDA...item414a3eedf7

But I wonder about their fitment, how shady an operation the company is and the quality.

I'm sure the above link is a GHETTO place to buy pieces from, but I'm wondering if their price is accurate. Is it really only $500 for all the body panels? I was kind of expecting EACH piece
to be $500.

Any and all help would be appreciated

Old 11-09-2009, 10:02 AM
October 2011 ROTM