F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

brake Upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2008 | 01:22 AM
|
Default brake Upgrade

I was searching around and I really couldn't find what i'm looking for.

The stock brake setup is nice, but i would like to improve on the initial bit, and overall braking power. It just seems that for the amount of lever force i apply, the stock setup is lacking some punch.

So, i know usually the first set is a set of HP brake lines and pads. I would like to go with the speigler lines, so, what pads for street application with a possible trackday thrown in the mix?

However, when it comes to rotors, calipers, master cylinders, etc.... im clueless as i've never worked on a bike before. I found a rotor setup from galfer and i think a ebc setup, but i wanted to see from the trackday guys what they ran and what i may do to improve the efficiency of the stock system.

SO, IF MONEY WASN'T AN ISSUE, but within a certain level of reality, what would your dream brake setup be?

Old 02-27-2008 | 01:27 AM
Default RE: brake Upgrade

do what im going to do and upgrade to the 954 front and rear its a good upgrade and its cheap. get some galfer ss lindes and pads and notice a big diff. all and all maybe 300 for all if you get decent prices frm ebay. you will notice a big diff from stock

Old 02-27-2008 | 07:35 AM

Goodridge lines are very small in diameter offering more feel (firmer) at the lever but in reality........it would be VERY hard to beat a full Brembo upgrade.

http://www.indysuperbike.com/custome...930&page=1

That is by no means their top of the line but it would make a nice upgrade to any bike for a reasonable price.

I found that the MC was my issue with fading and mushy feel so Goodridge lines and a Brembo radial MC have remedied that little issue.
For pads.........Vesrah has some very nice pads out there now.....good initial hit with little fade. Good for street/track riding.

Old 02-27-2008 | 09:48 AM