F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Brake help before it goes to the dealer!

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2008, 07:30 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake help before it goes to the dealer!

First off - This is my first time posting so Thanks in advance forany help. (ltrftp)
here goes,
I was changing my rear pads out for the first time myself- had a friend helping
So I pop the caliper off the mount, pads come loose, piston is still pressurized.

New pads are thick, so I need to push the piston in. so I pry it in with the old pads and a screwdriver. It pushes in as normal with resistance.
Only now I have no pressure all of a sudden. When I pump the piston out, it doesn't stay. if it doesn't suck back in on its own, its easily pushed in with 1 finger.. so I check for leaks, can't find anything but a little moisture on the hose under the conduit, but no apparent leak.

So even though I didn't open the system, I thought maybe it was air. So I held in a pump and let the relief valve loose and re-tightened.

Is the next step completely bleeding and replacing the brake fluid? or, is it likely I busted a seal when I pushed the piston in?

obviously, I had pressure at first, having to pry in the piston, which makes me believe whatever the problem is, it started with pushing in the piston.

Any suggestions, before I bend over for the dealer and say ok.?

Old 10-01-2008, 10:51 PM
Default RE: Brake help before it goes to the dealer!

I don't understand what you are trying to say? When you pump it it doesn't stay out but then it doesn't go back in on its own? Where is it then? The pistons aren't supposed to go in on their own, i don't think ever. Some have springs on the side to press the pads apart but that's it usually the movement of the rotor will push them apart enough.

so whats your problem exactly? Take some pictures maybe it will clarify

Old 10-02-2008, 04:44 PM