F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

bike won't start after replacing stator cover

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2005, 01:59 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bike won't start after replacing stator cover

couple facts.. i dumped the bike and my stator cover got scratched a bit. bought a brand new OE cover. i've never done this before, i just go in and see how it comes apart and put it back together.

when i took the cover bolts out and broke it loose from the gasket, some oil started to pour out.. so i tightened 4 points back down and drailed all the oil out of the engine into a pan. then i put the drain plug back on and took the 4 bolts off the stator cover. a little more oil came out, i'm guessing all in all about 1/4th of a quart came out of that area.

anyways, i got the cover off, swapped the alternator coil over in the same position and reassembled w/ some liquid gasket/seal. put the oil back in the engine and then like a tard, i put all the fairings back on w/out doing a test start. well now, i go to start, and the relay clicks, doesn't try to turn over.... battery is dead. so against my owner manual's discretion, i get some cables from my car to my bike (as i have done before) and try to jump start it. won't start, it does try to turn over, but only 1 - 1.5 times every time i hit the ignition button. do i need to put some oil in there somehow?

was supposed to go on a ride with some coworkers tonight but now i can't cause my bike won't start.. hopefully someone can come up w/ a solution asap. thanks in advance.

Old 09-17-2005, 06:01 AM
Default RE: bike won't start after replacing stator cover

i say that it's toasted(the battery i mean)

Old 09-17-2005, 06:07 AM

yeah but wouldn't it still start if jumped to my car?

Old 09-17-2005, 06:38 AM

did u get a good connection on it?? cuz i tried jumping it from a battery charger box and it does the same even with good connection..it might be giving too much power causing it to not turn over...