F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Another f4i won't prime..

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2012, 08:20 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another f4i won't prime..

Hello, newbie here just bought a laid over f4i guy said it hasn't started in 2 years, and I didn't not here the fuel pump prime. So I bought it anyways for cheap. I tried to jump the fuel pump from the battery with some speaker wire nothing happen so I bought a fuel pump and swap those put everything back together and won't prime. So I bypassed the tip over sensor from the plug itself (2 outer ones together ) and the pump still won't prime. And when I turn the key over and flip my kill switch I can hear 2 relays in the back click together.

Also before I bypassed the tip over sensor my headlights worked fine, after I cut and joined the 2 outer wires together my headlights won't come on. And all the lights on my gauge cluster are lit up.

Any suggestions? Is the fuse for the pump itself? Thanks.

Old 05-02-2012, 08:59 PM
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Received 117 Likes on 107 Posts

Welcome to the forum and the wonderful world of f4i!

For the pump to prime, the headlight must work. There is a fuse for it In the box. The circuit also goes through the kickstand switch, kill switch, and a relay.

Good luck tracing.

Old 05-02-2012, 09:54 PM

there is a repair manual around here somewhere, you can diagnose your problems with that.
page 5-53, you can do a google search and find it with a quickness.
i just realized that this can help me with my problem /facepalm
example, disconnect the fuel pump black connector, turn the ignition on and measure the
voltage between the terminals brown + and green -
there should be voltage for a few seconds, if there is voltage, replace the fuel pump.
no voltage, inspect the 30 amp fuse 10amp fuse engine cut off relay, etc etc.
definitely check that shop manual out

Old 05-03-2012, 01:34 PM