F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

About to purchase a 02 F4I...need help (known issues?)

Old 12-15-2005, 02:20 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default About to purchase a 02 F4I...need help (known issues?)

Hi guys, I am new to the forum, and already I need your help!
I am about to purchase a 2002 F4i with 13k miles on it for about 4k....good deal IMHO.
Anyways, what I would like to know is if there any known issues that I need to look for, or be aware of. Or anything that would make the bike not worth it.....
I am a relatively new rider, coming mostly from the car scene, so I am very new to bike-tech.

I already went and took a look at the bike, but will take a look at it again with some friends who have been riding for a while. So far, the seller has made me aware of only 2 issues.

A) sticky throttle grip (how hard is that to fix)?
B) Something I didn't understand. He said that at one point, when changing his rear tire, someone put it on incorrectly (he said they forgot to put a spacer on the left side) and the bolt made a groove on the swingarm next to the chain.
Looking at the pic, that bolt, hit the swingarm, and there is a hole basically where I drew in the blue. (pic is not the actual bike)
He said now everything is aligned and works properly.

Let me know what you guys think? Comments, is it a good deal, stay away, etc.
Thanks a lot in advance guys!

[IMG]local://upfiles/3944/304649D687DA4995A2FBD82EAC4F82FD.jpg[/IMG]

Old 12-15-2005, 02:23 AM
Default RE: About to purchase a 02 F4I...need help (known issues?)

Also, another bike that I am looking at is an 01 F4i...
It has absolutely no mechanical problems according to the owner, but there was
an attempt to steal it. Basically, the owner said he needed to buy a new instrument cluster...
So the miles on the bike don't match up with the miles on the cluster.....

seems slightly shady to me....let me know anything that can help....I would REALLY appreciate it!

Old 12-15-2005, 11:14 AM