F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

01 F4i Tune up tips

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2010 | 06:51 PM
|
Default 01 F4i Tune up tips

Im new to the Bike riding world, and working on bike world. I just bought my first bike last Saturday. A 2001 Honda CBR600 F4i. My Dad who has been riding for close to 25 years, went with me to get the bike. He said i will need new front brake pads, Rear pads, Rear Rotor, and a New Chain. Like i was saying im new to this whole thing. could any one recommend some good parts. they dont need to be track worthy parts being i just ride it back and forth to work and for fun.

I also want to do a full tune up, try to get her running the best i can. she already runs very smooth. but i dont know the last time the plugs and oil were changed

So what i need to know...

What kind of Brake pads do you recommend for the front & Rear ?

What kind of brake Rotors ?

Should i replace both the Sprockets and Chain ?

If so with what brand ?

What kind of Oil do you recommend ?

What kind of Spark Plugs ?

Sorry for the noob questions, i just want to have a nice reliable bike

Old 03-09-2010 | 07:22 PM

If its running perfectly smooth dont touch the plugs. when it needs them, always run the Iridiums specified for it. Buy them at a autoparts store. they will be around $10 a piece but the bike dealers want almost $20. always replace chain and sprockets as a set. As far as brands I dont like to get into that much. everyone has there own opinion. I've run parts unlimited with good results though and usually cheaper than others. be sure you get an o-ring chain and lube it often.

Old 03-09-2010 | 07:45 PM

+1 on jonld about brands. Everyone has their preference. Here's just some FYI to give you some direction:

Chain & Sprockets: (Stick with stock) 525 Chain 108 Link O or X ring chain, 16 teeth Front sprocket, 46 Teeth rear sprocket