F2 Tech Tech Subsection (for any mechanical, repair, and DIY threads)

Charging system problem. Help please.

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2014, 12:56 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Charging system problem. Help please.

Hi all. First off, thanks for the constant help with my CBR woes. Today, I was hoping that someone might be able to say, "Yeah, I know exactly what that is. That happened to me a couple years back." So here's what's up...

I'm a college student right now. I commute year-round on my F2 and have racked up about 60,000 miles so far. On the 4th of July I was heading home from a weekend away when my bike died while riding down the freeway. I tested and found the issue to be the rectifier. I replaced it with a low-miles F3 rectifier and have been riding fine ever since.

Two weeks ago I didn't ride one day. The next day I rode to campus, went to classes, and at the end of the day when I started my bike it turned over very weakly. I have a 3 mile ride back home and while waiting at the light just before my road I could feel the bike beginning to lose power. I held the revs at 2K while waiting for the light and then rode home. I shut the bike off and then tried to start it again, suspecting that it wouldn't. It barely turned over for a couple seconds and then refused to do anything more.

15 months ago I put a new YUASA battery in the bike. Having bought it locally I took the battery out and over to the shop I bought it from. They load tested and recharged it for me and said that everything checked out. I reinstalled the battery and checked output voltage at the battery. It was good at 13.5-15.0 through the revs. I rode it for a week without issue, and then yesterday I spent Halloween with my wife and kids and didn't ride at all.