Detailing Discuss detailing your ride within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First time painting, Rattle Can........any tips?

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2008, 02:29 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time painting, Rattle Can........any tips?

So.....i'm planing to paint a tail that i have coming in sometime this week. Its used, and Blue. I'd like to paint it gloss black.

Im choosing to rattle can, mainly because its just one tail, and i don't want to pay alot for a professional job, so why not just spend a few buxs at lows?

But, the thing is, i have no idea where or what to do, i think i have a rough idea......

I know my first thing, is to sand it, rough it up, but from there, i'm loss

So i've got a few questions....

1) After sanding, then on to Primer right? what kind of primer would be good for fairing plastic? and how would i go about appying it? (i've never used primer before)

2) After primer. Then onto the paint, So i know the color code for the black i need, to match my bike, is NH-1.......does that code transfer to other paints? like would i be able to find that color code in a home depot? if not, where?

3) After the main paint, what kind of gloss do i need to use? and how many coats?

4) So i think thats the right order....but is there a link or tutorial that anyone might have, to show how, or how someone did rattle can their paintjob....and it actually turned out good?

5) Last, but not least, am i missing any steps?

Thanks guys, hopefully with the right info, i can get a good paint job done.

Old 06-29-2008, 09:06 AM
Default RE: First time painting, Rattle Can........any tips?

I would say DON"T. Can spray paint never holds up. Don't you have any friends with spray gun? I have use can, and been never happy with how it turns out. Go auto paint store get some paint besides looks nice will last for while.

Old 06-29-2008, 11:07 AM

Well if u wanna do it right ur missing some steps.