CBR 954RR 2002 - 2003 - CBR 954RR Forum

tested out my new gear

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2008, 11:30 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default tested out my new gear

so, today was an effin great day. spent the whole day putting it to the twisties, in a way i've never done before. it was amazing, the roads we were on were amazing, it was good times....till the end

coming around a hard left turn, got into it a little hot, but had it stable, then i saw a small patch of gravel (tiny gravel, like big sand almost) right in my path....and only a few feet ahead.

low sided, and slid down the road for a little bit. watched my bike slide, thought it was gonna just slide off the road into a patch of grass, then it bit into the asphalt, and went airborne.

right then i thought, son of a bitch, there go all my parts. it flipped around in the air and landed the first time, almost straight up, cracking the pointy end of my tail pretty much off.
it came to rest back on its left side, and other than the tail, and the mirror that was laying next to it, it looked ok....except the big puddle of oil coming out from under it.

all in all, it wasnt too bad, just a stater cover, a tail fairing, a mirror, and a couple odds and ends, that i'll discover when i take it apart tomorrow.

as for me, i'm pretty much fine, a little sore from a day of hard riding, banged my elbow, shoulder, and pinky...all of which are fine, just a little sore. not too bad. this might sound funny, but, i gotta say, i feel pretty good about my first crash. it didnt rattle me, it didnt instill a fear of riding, i'll be back on 2 as soon as i can get some parts and get her back together.

i guess i'll probably paint it while i have it apart, since i need to paint the tail, and upper anyway. we'll see.

here are a couple of camera phone pics of the damage...i'll get better ones tomorrow

Old 06-25-2008, 11:34 PM
Default RE: tested out my new gear

just wanted to add.