CBR 954RR 2002 - 2003 - CBR 954RR Forum

Please help me diagnose this serious issue

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2011, 10:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please help me diagnose this serious issue

Hey guys,

Unfortunately, I come bearing bad news (for me). My recently acquired and beloved CBR954RR definitely has some mechanical issue going on, and I'm not too good at troubleshooting motorcycles in general yet, so could use your help.

I've only had the bike about 2 months, and it has about 25000 miles on it. From the first time I rode it, I thought it seemed a bit too loud mechanically (meaning the amount of vibration it makes relative to my other motorcycle). I ride with earplugs in pretty much all the time, so I key more off vibrations than actual sounds, and the bike has always seems a bit rougher than I expected. It's the only 954RR I've ever ridden or had access to, so I never really had any good comparative yardstick to it...figured it might not be a big deal.

More recently I've noticed some noises (clicking) when freewheeling the bike around on the ground, particularly when I backed it up and put it into my garage. Please note it's always started promptly, has no overheating issues, and seems to be fine about 3500 RPM, but seems to stumble more regularly under that RPM.

Just yesterday I put it up on my rear stand and started really investigating what might be happening. At this point I've lubricated the chain (no real difference), checked the chain tension (seems fine, definitely within the acceptable window of slack), and checked the oil (may have been a bit low). Please note I've never seen a low level warning for oil, but of course I cannot say with certainty that it would have lit up...although I have seen the light flashing when turning the key on so believe at least that light works.