CBR 954RR 2002 - 2003 - CBR 954RR Forum

954rr3 wont fire

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2014, 02:29 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 954rr3 wont fire

Hi all.
I bought an 03 954rr last year and it has been running great until last week. After a good ride I pulled into a gas station and filled up but when I turned the ignition on the display came on as normal but I couldnt hear the fuel pump prime. I then tried to start it but nothing would happen.
I checked all the fuses and they looked ok. While I was waiting for the tow truck I tried it a few more times and all of a sudden I heard the fuel pump kick in and she then started ok. Home I went great.
I tried starting it about a week later( bike was left on trickle charge so battery was full up) and I can hear the fuel pump prime but she wont fire. The starter motor is turning over but no joy.
Im no expert and I have some mechanical knowledge aided by my Dad but my logic says it could be a fuel flow problem.
Does anybody know if it is likely to be the fuel pump that is faulty or are they generally reliable?
Any help would be very grateful

Old 03-17-2014, 03:59 AM

oh and it definetly has a spark at the plugs but just wont fire.
Did fuel flow test according to manuel and its about half of what its supposed to be, Im thinking fuel pump problem.
Just linked out the diagnostic plug and im getting a constant fast flash at about 2 second intervals, cant find the meaning of this on my mauel though.
Any ideas guys?

Old 03-17-2014, 08:50 AM
Retired Super Moderator and Fighterer
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

Originally Posted by Andrewsblade
oh and it definetly has a spark at the plugs but just wont fire.
Did fuel flow test according to manuel and its about half of what its supposed to be, Im thinking fuel pump problem.
Just linked out the diagnostic plug and im getting a constant fast flash at about 2 second intervals, cant find the meaning of this on my mauel though.
Any ideas guys?