CBR 900RR 1993 - 1999 Honda CBR 900RR

Please, Please help my brain is fried

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2008, 07:50 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please, Please help my brain is fried

I have 93 900rr. Bike runs fine (but not perfect) when it is cold, but when it warms up it shuts off, sputters, and will not take any throttle. I have to be very easy with it to get it home. When cold it will not go past 7k rpm. I have replaced coils, plugs, and took off the fuel pump to see if it made a difference but it did not. I did however find out that the fuel pump was not working but it is running just as bad without it.Any helpwould be greatly appreciated

Old 10-12-2008, 11:11 PM
Default RE: Please, Please help my brain is fried

Clean your carbs,check your choke cable out,and check all your vac lines.

Old 10-12-2008, 11:17 PM

I'm no mechanic but it sounds to me like a fuel issue.

Good luck and I hope you can find the problem and fix it soon.

Old 10-13-2008, 04:13 AM
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

It might be coincidence that she is ok when cold and sputter when warm. Check out your choke cable and throttle cable first.

Old 10-13-2008, 07:30 AM

I cleaned the carbs last night and checked the choke cable last night. All good. Also drained thetank just in case of water and nothing. It is almost acting like an electrical problem. Could this be the rectifier shorting out? I also checked battery voltage and it was 12.97 When I said it ran good when cold I misspoke. It will take throttle but only until 7000 rpm then it breaks up and misses. This problem started very minor and has progressively gotten worse.

Old 10-13-2008, 11:01 AM

it could be a vacuum advance problem. triple check your vacuum hoses, also check your coils, could have one trying to go out.

Old 10-13-2008, 11:41 AM

Vac lines son!!!!!!!!!!!!! That's what their good for,to **** you off.

Old 10-13-2008, 01:55 PM