CBR 900RR 1993 - 1999 Honda CBR 900RR

Just a few easy Q's for a new 900RR

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2010, 10:02 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just a few easy Q's for a new 900RR

Hi guys/gals!

I'm a reborn 900 RR rider. I will post some pics soon but I found a SUPER MINTY 1 owner 93 CBR 900RR with a Red, white and blue scheme!!! This was literally my first bike and I taught myself on this bike 10 years ago but had to sell when my daughter was born.

The bike has been sitting for a while so I wanted to start it off right and change the oil, plugs and coolant. I guess the one I am most concerned about is the coolant change. Does anyone have any tips or procedures for this? I ordered a Honda Service manual off ebay but it wont be here for a week and I kinda can't wait that long! haha Also are plugs a pain? I have never done them on a bike before.

One other question I have is, on my first bike my rear tails lights would pulse whenever I hit the brakes, and they would continue to pulse until they were released. I really liked that cuz drivers definitely noticed me more.

Also, should I get the carbs balanced just cuz? Bike has 13k on it and it idles a little rough, not sure why yet. Possibly just low idle and needs to be adjusted but I figure if I am in there already why not just do it all, no?

And also my rear blinkers were wired into the tail lights some how too. So if I put on the left blinker the bulbs on the left would light up and vice versa for the right. Cuz I Have to get rid of these ugly blinkers that are on there now. Any ideas how that is wired?

Thanks and I will post some pics today when I get home from work.

Oh, I am also looking for Second Look seats (red,white blue) if anyone knows of any, seems Second Look went chapter 11 I don't like my black seats.

Old 07-19-2010, 07:56 PM