CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners

CBR Forum - Enthusiast forums for Honda CBR Owners (https://cbrforum.com/forum/)
-   CBR 900RR (https://cbrforum.com/forum/cbr-900rr-19/)
-   -   1998 Bad battery? Bad starter? Something else? (https://cbrforum.com/forum/cbr-900rr-19/1998-bad-battery-bad-starter-something-else-158290/)

mwk900rr 10-03-2018 05:47 PM

1998 Bad battery? Bad starter? Something else?

I've been chasing this problem with my '98 for several months, and it's completely baffling me: I can't tell if I have (two) bad batteries, a bad starter, a bad charging system, or some other voodoo electrical problem.

With a fully charged battery, the bike starts and runs totally fine. After about two trips out and back to work (~23 miles round trip), the battery appears to be dead, and the bike either turns over very slowly or doesn't turn over at all.

If I get it home and drop it on the charger, it appears to charge fully in anywhere from ten minutes to two hours. Mostly, checking it on the charger shows that it charges in about ten minutes. The charger shows "25%" for like two minutes, the "50%" for about two minutes, then "75%", then "100%". It *can't* possibly be fully charging a dead battery that fast.

Most recently, I rode about ten miles for lunch and the bike ran fine. I parked in the parking lot and turned the key off, then, just to test, turned the key back on and hit the starter button and got nothing but clicks from the starter.

Not trusting my bike any more, I had started carrying the second battery with me and the tools to change it. Went and had lunch (I was already there, after all), then changed the "dead" battery out with the charged spare, and the bike started right up and ran fine all the way home. Checked the "dead" battery with the multimeter when I got home and it read 12.5V. IDGI.