Starting on a honda cbr600?

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2014, 09:14 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starting on a honda cbr600?

I am new to sportsbikes I have no riding experience but I was thinking it would be ok to start on a 600 if I kept everything slow. The nearest place that teaches the motorcycle safety course is 3 hours away from where I live. If its not I was thinking about waiting untill the cbr 300 comesout or getting a 250cc. The way the economy is tho, I fear I wont have enough $$$ to get the bigger bike If I buy something now and then want to sell and upgrade later I might not have the ability. I DID plan on eventually taking the motorcycle safety course and some riding lessons tho.

Old 01-14-2014, 09:27 AM
June 2013 ROTM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

People will have different opinions on this. Because you are posting in the 600rr thread, I presume you are looking at buying one. In that event, I'd advise against it. These 100+ hp bikes have a wicked power delivery for the untrained wrist. You can get in a lot of trouble very fast. Not to mention the riding position can be very unfriendly to a new rider. I'm not saying you can't learn on an RR (there are people that do), but there are better bikes out there. If you are set on a 600cc bike, look at an older model (f1,f2). They can be found in good shape and very not a lot of money. Still plenty of power, but a manageable power delivery and an easier riding position. Failing that, a 250 or even a (gasp) ninja 500 isn't a bad option.

All that being said, if your worried about the money so bad, maybe motorcycling isn't for you at this time. It can be an expensive passion (trust me!) and maintenance is expensive if you don't do it all yourself.

Old 01-14-2014, 09:32 AM

Originally Posted by CorruptFile