Scooter experience = motorcycle experience?

Old 02-07-2012, 10:53 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Scooter experience = motorcycle experience?

So I've been riding a 70cc scooter for 2 years. Obviously scooters are twist and go so there's no learning how to shift gears. I would like to get a motorcycle but I don't know if any of my scooter skills will transfer over to a motorcycle. I want a sportbike that I can ride for potentially many years without having to "upgrade" to a bigger bike after one year.

I've learned some of the basics to 2-wheeled riding on my scooter: not braking/accelerating in corners, looking into your turns, being more aware of your surroundings, counter-steering, low speed maneuvering. But how hard would it be for me to jump on a motorcycle and go?

Do I have any legitimate experience from my scooter riding that would give me more reason to start on a 600 than a 250? I don't see myself as having no experience, but what about motorcycling do true newbies not have that I might have?

Everyone says "get a Ninja 250!" of course. I'm 6'-1" 200lbs, I'm not sure if a Ninja can even carry me that well. I want a Honda CBR600RR mostly because it's the best looking bike to me but also because I could keep it for many years. I would respect and fear the power of the bike. But again, do I have any more legitimate experience from my scooter riding that would give me more reason to start on a 600 than a 250?

Old 02-08-2012, 04:32 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts