riding in the wind

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2007, 10:39 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default riding in the wind

So I had to work this weekend, I decided to go to work on my new cbr 600rr '06 for the first time.

Keep in mind, im brand new to riding and the bike only now has 400 miles on it.

Anyways, things were great going to work and I was very comfortable going that fast amongst somewhat thin traffic. However, coming home was very scary because it got pretty windy, and I didnt see that coming. I was looking out the window at work thinking...****, I hope this wind subsides. So I leave work and am going down a 35mph stretch and I can feel the wind f'n with the bike on either side, making me worry about going splat. By the time I get out of town and into the 55+ zones, its downright scary, and its only being made worse by the fact cars are pissed and riding up my ***. I keep pulling over to let them pass then I'd keep on trying to maintain decent speed in the wind. I got home, I swore I'd never ride anywhere but in town again.

So this morning I said screw it. Im taking the bike back out today, wind or no wind, gotta confront the demon you know. Besides, I saw other riders in the wind and they seem to be doing ok. Maybe its just something you have to experience and just deal with.

Thanks for any input.

Old 09-09-2007, 10:44 AM
Banned
Default RE: riding in the wind

yea man...I appreciate where yer coming from, first time wind def. makes you sketchy..just keep on keppin on mang..screw the cagers..they have indash dvds to watch..wind obviously is hard to avoid, I cant really give you any tips or anything, cuz I fuggin hate the wind, but I try to stay calm, and keep the rubber down..just givver!!

Old 09-09-2007, 11:12 AM

here's a tip: The bike will stay planted. it would take tornado speed winds to make your tires leave the pavement. just ride it.

Old 09-09-2007, 11:25 AM

a lot of what you are feeling is the wind buffetting your head around