New rider, new cbr?

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2010, 11:16 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New rider, new cbr?

Hey everyone, I'm very new to riding(just took endorsement course). Ever since I have been looking into bikes I've always had a thing for cbr's. I'm thinking of getting a 600rr either 07' or 09'. The 09' has all of 3 miles on it while the 07' has about 2300. I heard that breaking in your own engine is usually the best way to go although the 07 only having 2300 miles isn't fully broken in yet.. If anyone knows, what are the differences between the 2 years? Besides the possible abs.

Old 08-28-2010, 06:45 AM

The difference between the two is the 09 has a few different color options, they have engine covers a big negative is the restricted emissions that give it between 6-10 horses less not sure on the actual number that's pretty much the difference between the two I have an 09 and I love it the emission issue can be fixed with an irc-2 which runs about $55 there is also a rumored curse but somewhat true about new riders and 07 models they have the highest number of crashes not to deter u from the 07 though just my lil input but both are great bikes and very similar and most parts that are out will fit both years good luck with which ever u choose

Old 08-28-2010, 08:26 AM

^yeah, besides all that. they'll both get a newbie killed equally as fast... get something smaller, don't be an idiot. You just said you got your endorsement, and you're ready to hop on one of the fastest 600's out there? Good plan... and it's not a "curse", it's people like you that think they know how to ride, hop on, and go down in the first month of having it. good luck.

Old 08-28-2010, 10:30 AM

Originally Posted by Junior2552