HELP!!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2008, 06:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP!!!!!!

(The following is a2nd post....was first posted to new member forum....CBR Classic suggested I post my questions here)

HELP!!!! Awesome forum you have here.....I’m new to motorcycles in general...and I NEED SOME HELP....I’ve just purchased a 04 CBR 600 off of my neighbor... Not running.....probably not a good idea....

ANyways...it only cost me $1500....Hope its a good deal....

Here we go...

The fuel pump is not running (I can’t hear it prime when key is on) and there is no spark...it DOES TURN OVER....we checked all relays and fuses....all ok......also..the lcd display works and the lights come on....bike will not start

The story goes that the last owner was installing new tail lights with the electronics on, when one of the the wires on the tail lights shorted....he said that the fuel pump quit at that point.....I have jumped it to power and it DOES RUN...(the pump)

Anyways...we thought it was a computer....and bought one.....Guess what? ...it didn’t work (CRY :-(... )

The LED tail light was partially wired when I got it....I can’t tell if its stock or not (I don’t thinkit is), it has the turn signal integrated with it...The way its wired up is with the stop light connector (which has a ground) and two yellow for right & left signal....the two grounds for the turn signals are cut off on the wire harness (bike side). Since the tail light did not have wires for turn signal ground I assume this is right..................After connecting and powering on the both the L/R signals freak out (blink at random (fairly fast)).......The stop light works fine....

I take it that it’s time for some outside help!!!!....[/b]Especially since I just wasted about $600 for a cpu!!!!

What’s wrong with the tail light?
Why will the bike not start?

[/b]Also I have not checked the tilt sensor on the front.....Just found out about it today...