dealer ripoff?

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2006, 09:13 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default dealer ripoff?

okay i kinda am unsure oh what i want to do. i am going to be gettin my 600 mile oil change and stuff done in a month or so and i want frame sliders. basically the guy at the dealer said like 300 maybe cheaper to do the whole oil change and valve check or w/e and install the sliders (sliders not included in price). so im gunna be paying about 140 to 150 to have them installed. should i pay or should i do it myself!? because i am new to motorcycle repair and work, and if they mess up and do a bad job i can have them try again at there expense. keepin in mind the miles im gunna be puttin on are my first miles ever on the bike and for me. so by waiting i might crash before then.so im very undesided HELP!

thx, steve

Old 03-02-2006, 03:42 PM
Default RE: dealer ripoff?

If you're not mechanically inclined then have the dealer or a friend do it that is experienced, but just so you know you're paying close to 200 bucks for an oil change that you can do yourself for about 40 bucks and an hours worth of labor (and an hour is an over shot). The dealer doesn't do a valve check at the 600 mile check up and if they told you that, they're telling a lie. Most places will charge around 100 dollars for frame slider installation, but then again, they're not too difficult to install and there is some very good, detailed instructions on how to install them on this and other forums, think of the pride and sense of accomplishment you'll get if you do these things yourself...and the money you'll save!

Old 03-02-2006, 04:16 PM

ORIGINAL: Fretless33