600 F4i vs. 600RR (please clarify!)

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2006, 12:38 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 600 F4i vs. 600RR (please clarify!)

Hey riders!!! I am new to the CBR world and the world of street bikes... I am buying a silver 600RR next week and this is mt first ever street bike. I've riden only dirt bikes and ATV's.PLease let me know what the differences are between the F4i and the RR.My dealer tried to convince me that since I am a female (small) and a beginner rider I should get the F4i instead of the 600RR. Well his exact words were The F4i is like taming a squirrel and the 600RR is like taming a wolverine!!!!! PLease let me know whats up!!!![:@]

Old 04-26-2006, 12:49 PM
Default RE: 600 F4i vs. 600RR (please clarify!)

This is difficult to assess from a distance & not knowing you personally. Here are some key questions:

1. Do you, or did you ever ride a bicycle well?
2. How much & how well did you ride dirt bikes?
3. How coordinated are you?
4. How small is small?
5. How good of balance & how quick are your reflexes?

Now to specifics: F4i is a tad more upright in riding position. It is also about 1 inch lower stock. A touch easier to get your feet to the ground. However, the RR is not difficult to handle at all, just have to know what you're doing. Both bikes handle really great. Both have great power to weight ratio, so they GO!! However, all things speed-wise are controlled by your right hand. There's nothing that says you have to romp down on the RR or F4i early on. In fact you shouldn't. Ease into it.

Have you taken the Motorcycle Foundation Safety Course? If not, you should. After that, see what the instructors say about which bike you can handle best.

Best to you.

Old 04-26-2006, 12:55 PM