08/07 vs older models

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2008, 04:04 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 08/07 vs older models

Hi, i am a beginner rider and currently thinking of purchasing a cbr 600RR.

I wanted to buy a used one but heard that 07 and 08s are a lot safer/easier to ride than the older models.

Does anyone know anything about this that can provide more detail?

Thank you.

Old 08-25-2008, 04:46 PM
Default RE: 08/07 vs older models

CBR's are know for being forgiving. The main difference's between the new and older models are in weight and performance, with the new one's being lighter and having a more powerfull engine.

Old 08-25-2008, 06:51 PM
Retired Moderator
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Yes, the they are easier to learn on compared with other bikes (like the R6 and Kawasaki), but they are by no means "easy" to ride for a new rider.........just "easier" than some other bikes.

600RR's, no matter the year, are extremely powerful and twitchy, and can kill you just as fast as any literbike......so don't underestimate them for a second. So that brings us to the question, can a 600RR be a first bike? Sure. I myself pretty much started out on an 06 600RR and grew as a rider from there, but I was also extremely submissive to it's power and capabilities of killing me if I did anything brave or "stupid" on it.........one wrong move and it'll **** off the bike.

But that brings us to another question, is the 600RR a "good" choice as a first bike.......not really. There are better choices to be had for first bikes. But that doesn't mean it's impossible......it really all depends on the rider and the head on his/her shoulders.

And with that being said, the answer to your main question......