CBR 600F4 1999 - 2000 Honda CBR 600F4 Forum

New guy -- bike stopped running and won't start up now

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2005, 04:49 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy -- bike stopped running and won't start up now

I'm a newb to the bike world. I have a 2000 CBR 600 F4 and I just recently had the bike overheat and got it fixed at the Honda dealer. They said everything was fine and there was no problem, just that the fuse for the fan blew.

Here's my new problem -- I just had them drain the gas tank and I transported my bike from Michigan to Florida. I've had this bike for 2 weeks now and havn't even driven it for more than 30 minutes at a time and only drove it maybe 8 times. The bike has just short of 25,000 miles on it.

There was a hurricane coming and I wanted to store the bike in my cousins garage here and I got half way there (5 mile trip) and at a light the bike just shut off and won't start back up!

When I try to start it up again it at 1st was started and then dying and now it won't even start -

I don't think it could have been gas and oil because when I got the bike worked on they checked everything and changed the oil and they even said it was good to go.

ANY IDEAS?

Old 10-23-2005, 08:37 PM
Default RE: New guy -- bike stopped running and won't start up now

I was thinking it had to do with leaving your tank completely drained for 2 weeks it might cause mild oxidization inside the tank and particles can dirty your engine... you should always leave gas in with a fuel stabalizer if needed. Otherwise rusting will occur inside the tank.

Old 10-24-2005, 12:16 AM

Well the only thing is I only had the gas drained for about 3-4 days. I'm totally lost -- My cousin was thinking that maybe the fuel pump went out. Could that be it, or is there other more likely things that could have gone wrong?

Old 10-24-2005, 02:31 AM

Have you checked on the battery?

Try trickle charging the battery...

Have you tried checking for spark...?