CBR 600F4 1999 - 2000 Honda CBR 600F4 Forum

how much oil behind stator cover?

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2009, 05:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy how much oil behind stator cover?

Dropped my f4 for the first time a couple of days ago ... after about 20 minutes, I got it started back up, and it was losing quite a bit of oil from behind the stator cover. (at least I'm hoping the cover is the only source of loss). Anyway, it was pretty much all lost while I had it running - once I saw it was losing oil I killed it. After I got home and took the cover off (which now has a nice crack and a good size hole), it was decently dry in there - is it normal to lose a lot of oil from the stator cover or is it probably coming from somewhere else??

BTW - this is my first post, but I've been lurking awhile. hi all!

Old 11-17-2009, 06:45 PM

I have an f3 - and I'm not a pro - but I changed mine after replacing the entire stator. There is a small amount that will drain out, that can be minimized from leaning it right - but nothing thats going to drain your engine.

Old 11-19-2009, 06:31 PM

I'm not too sure about the stator side while the bike is off. But while the bike is running the stator side of the motor is getting quite a bit of oil. There are gears that need to be lubricated under there. =) I'd imagine also that while the bike is on the kickstand some oil might drain into the cover of the stator... But I'm not positive about that =/

Old 11-19-2009, 08:18 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

about the same as if you pull your clutch cover... MAX you are talking about 2 shot glasses full ... on a center stand or bike stands maybe 1 shot glass full ... on kick stand ... id say no morethan 2 shot glasses full .. i have changed them track side and its minimal

Old 11-20-2009, 07:03 AM