CBR 600F4 1999 - 2000 Honda CBR 600F4 Forum

Considering an F4 with some issues..

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2009, 11:17 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Considering an F4 with some issues..

I found a 2000 CBR600 F4 for 2200 and it has some issues to come along with it. They say that there is an oil leak and it runs alot weaker now than before when it use to run strong. They say in example it use to top out at 170 now it only tops out at 80. They think its the carbs and it needs to be sync'd but they are not sure. It has 40k miles on it and i'm just not sure if its worth picking up. I just dont know how much it will run me when I do fix it...was wondering if anyone had any info to help me out on my decision...i'm new to bikes but very interested in getting to know them. Thanks

Last edited by DaFutureArtist; 02-22-2009 at 11:22 AM.
Old 02-22-2009, 02:46 PM

i just got that same bike but in yellow not to long ago. i got mine for $2900 it had a fork oil leak and would bog down big time.. i thought it was the carbs too but i ran sea foam through it and now it runs like a champ. if your somewhat a do it yourselfer then go for it. also keep in mind at 40k miles the clutch might go soon but even thats not to bad iv heard.. but i have had mine for about a month and iv painted the break calipers, changed break pads. flushed and sealed the gas tank and radiater, changed all filters and spark plugs , added a yellow LED underglow and a radar detecter and alarm. i would say she runs better then new now. but i like working on my own bike at my own pace. if your like me then go for it, i did

Old 02-22-2009, 03:07 PM

Where's the oil leak, and can you do a compression test on it?

Old 02-22-2009, 05:31 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post