CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

Tuning my F3

Old 04-29-2010, 01:25 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tuning my F3

Ok, I am trying to tune my 98 F3 on a budget using the usual performance upgrades that most people do such as air filter, exhaust, jet kit. My local shop in Hawaii quoted me a price to tune my bike of $1000, this seems very steep to me. Is this price fair or close to it? Do I need a jet kit with my D&D slip on since they are the only shop around? Can I do it myself? Any input would help, thanks. I have all the parts just need to know what all of you would suggest.

Old 04-29-2010, 01:43 AM

I just found out that you need a jetkit if you want your bike to run properly after doing modifications like, exhaust, header, so on and so forth. So, I would say invest in the jetkit, however, I could also be wrong, because I'm new to this whole bike thing.

As far as the quoted price you got, then, I don't know what to tell you about that. I know here in Louisville, KY., there is a shop called "R&D", and they quoted me at right around 300 to do a valve adjustment, clean/rebuild my carbs, and correct my idle, so, that's cool. Maybe Hawaii is just more expensive? IDK.

Old 04-29-2010, 08:57 AM

JetKit NOT NEEDED for just a slip on and airfilter just turn your fuel/air mixture screw (pilot screw) out 1 turn.......I'm at 800-900 ft elevation D&D Slip on, UNI air filter.............Headers/Full system exhaust=jetkit

Old 04-29-2010, 09:28 AM